Whitney Trophy

In 1954, the then Commodore Lewis J. Whitney, Jr. recognized the need for establishing one outstanding series of races which could be used not only to encourage interest in Southern California ocean racing, but also to give recognition to those who had participated and done well in a season-long series.

The trophy has been won by many top-notch racing yachtsmen sailing on many fine ocean racing boats whose names appear on the winners plaques on the trophy base.

The Series, as originally conceived, was to select six or seven ocean races on the Los Angeles Yacht Club calendar and to permit one drop-out race in computing the overall standing.

The Deed of Gift has enabled the Board of Directors to choose the races and the rules which make up the series.

The perpetual trophy is a beautifully chased sterling silver ewer stamped with Hallmarks that verify the name of the maker in Sheffield, England, and the year it was made as 1864.

It is one of the Club’s major trophies, and has been presented to the overall winner of the Whitney Series or the Whitney-Times-Bogart Series each year since then. It is currently awarded to the series winning yacht in the PHRF A class.

Scroll to top