Warren D. Wood Optimist Dinghy Trophy

The trophy is awarded in the Southern California Midwinter Optimist Regatta to the First Boy in the competition. The trophy was part of the Warren D. Wood Collection and was originally known as the Los Angeles Motor Boat Club First Prize Avalon Catalina Island Trophy, won by Iroquois on July 31, 1910 and subsequently presented to the Los Angeles Yacht Club. To promote interest in small boat sailing activities The Los Angeles Yacht Club dedicated this trophy in 1962 to a series of races in the Round Bottom Dinghy Class Senior Division. The trophy was to be known as the L.A.Y.C. Senior Guppy Trophy and was last awarded in 1974. In order to promote youth small boat sailing the trophy was re-deeded to competition in the Optimist Mid-Winter Championship in 2011.

Scroll to top