George Griffith Series Perpetual Trophy

The two-race George Griffith Series is named after renowned sailor and engineer George Griffith. He was a member and Staff Commodore of Los Angeles Yacht Club. Among his many yachting achievements, he collaborated with Bill Lapworth to design the Cal 40, which dominated Transpac in the 1960’s. Sailing with his brother, George won Transpac in 1941 and he was the most senior member of the Transpac Yacht Club when he passed away in September 2012. The ship wheel used for the trophy was hand made by George in the 1930s.

Scroll to top