Blue Water Cruising Award

Donated to the Los Angeles Yacht Club by F. C. “Fritz” Ripley in October 1966. This trophy is awarded by the Board of Directors to Members who have accomplished “exceptional achievements on a cruise in far-away places or in cruising over a span of years in such a manner as to bring honor and distinction to the Los Angeles Yacht Club.”

The award is not made each year but only when the circumstances warrant. It is said that it is the most honored trophy to win that the Club presents, as it requires many years, and many nautical miles, of dedicated sailing.

The punch bowl, supported by three matched African wild boar tusks, formerly belonged to Dr. George Laubersheimer and was later acquired and given in the memory of the brothers Daniel and Dr. George Laubersheimer. As ardent cruising yachtsmen in the earliest days of Southern California yachting, they were the owners of the yawl “ROYAL” and subsequently the yawl “ORTONA”. Dr. George Laubersheimer was the Commodore of the South Coast Yacht Club (the forerunner of the Los Angeles Yacht Club) in 1911 and Vice-Commodore of the Los Angeles Yacht Club in 1930.

The walls of this alcove are reserved for half models of the boats of the winners of this trophy

Scroll to top